Senate Judiciary Hearing –Hon. Neil Gorsuch

I am sure there are others like me who value the legislative public hearing process in the United States.

Many years ago , I remember being attracted to this process and I remember teaching a Civics Course( there was a time when this was actually a subject in some Canadian Schools—Grade eight at the time)  describing to my students this unique feature of the American system. This has particular meaning in the Senate Hearings for Presidential  nominations for members of Cabinet and nominees by the President to sit on various courts , including the highest court,  The Supreme Court.

One of the benefits of retirement is having the time to view in real  time the present hearings concerning the nomination of the Hon. Neil Gorsuch to the Supreme Court. The Senate provides a free live streaming service that I have been watching on my IPAD. I don’t know if this material is archived and available later , but if it is I would highly recommend it to anyone who has an interest,  not only in seeing the process per se , but in listening to the lively exchange of ideas that are a part of the present hearing.

Needless to say that the present nominee , by all measures , is highly qualified to serve on the Court.

 

 

Leave a Reply

